“Dinner with Friends.” 5.5×8.5 in. Oil Pastel.

IMG_4596edit

FOR SALE: $10 plus shipping.

Our friends invited us over for smoked ribs and these amazing yogurt chocolate chip cookies. I’d give you the recipe but it’s totally a secret. And I don’t know it. This sketch was done in 6 minutes. I challenged my friend Jameson Bast to participate with me because I’m having so much fun so why wouldn’t everyone have just as much fun? He was a good sport and we had a great time. His sketch, I wish I took a picture to show you, but it was so great and very different than mine. His was focused in on a white casserole dish with some context around it. Mine was a big picture sort of thing. I was going for very loose lines and just laying down color. I had such a fun time doing this! I feel like I’m learning so much about this medium that I never knew anything about. Truth be told, I didn’t even like it before I got a set. That’s me, just trying things and being bold and doing art like I’ve never tried before. There is so much freedom in a quick sketch like this!

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

